Frum Judaism, holidays, Judaism, rants, Uncategorized, YouTube

Maccabeats new Purim Song video: The Lame Remains the Same

Back in December, I talked about the Maccabeats, the Yeshiva University  cappella group and their video “Candlelight,” which brought in over 4.7 million hits on You Tube. Although extremely catchy, I honestly can’t stand that song. Even worse, I couldn’t even go on Facebook anymore without being bombarded with the overkill of linking to the video. In the end however, I decided to take the high road and compliment the group for capitalizing on the weak taste of today’s society for the sake of their own popularity as well as in finding a way to publicize a better understanding of the holiday via song.

I concluded by saying that “I look forward to their next big hit about how “they tried to kill us, failed, so we feast” celebration.”

But after watching the group’s newest song and video entitled “Purim Song,” I would  like to take that back that previous statement… Because I never wanna look forward to something that lame ever again.

This time around the band is parodying “Raise Your Glass” by Pink.

I’ll say it before and I’ll say it (even though I’m gonna sound like a broken record but apparently people didn’t get it last time): It’s lame & wussy pop music wearing a Jewish leather jacket.

No matter how nice the jacket is (and we still love the jacket), it’s still lame & wussy pop music!

Now I’ll admit that people indeed enjoy the lameness that is the Maccabeats and that’s perfectly okay. Everyone’s entitled to their own opinion of what they like and don’t like and that’s what makes the world go ’round. It just happens that I have an opinion too. And I guarantee you that I am not alone in sharing that opinion.

But if people like it: why stop there? If the same formula in making a super-smash hit worked last time, why mess with success?

Sure it works. That’s why people love pop music. It’s the same formula over and over and over and over and over again. The same sounds, beats, melodies, lyrics and every other piece of the mundane puzzle that gets used.

Which also means the non-stop publicizing and over-hyping… As if no one has seen the video before therefore it becomes mitzvah #1 to post the video in every bloody forum available so that everyone else can see it. Guess what, people…. we’ve seen it!! So don’t be so naive and believe people don’t see things. It’s called over-saturation. And it’s the cause of why repetition is being confused with genuine creativity in today’s society.

I’m friends with one of the guys in the group too, and while I have much respect for what he and the group do, I gotta call things as I honestly see it – and I’m not afraid to do so. No one, not even friends are immune from criticism (or my opinions 😉

Call me a voice for the alternative… Not everyone has to like the mainstream that’s out there. If everyone did, we might as well be the “zombie sheep of over-saturation,” which unfortunately have taken hold of many well-intentioned observant Jews in the world.

I’m not denying or excluding the positives that videos produce… I’m just getting out there another perspective that doesn’t always get a fair amount of airplay (especially when competing against the zombie masses). You don’t like what I have to say?  Then either ignore it or try discussing it with me. Maybe we’ll both learn something new…

And if you agree with me, I say thank you very much. Now I know I’m not crazy 😉

2 thoughts on “Maccabeats new Purim Song video: The Lame Remains the Same”

  1. I see your point of view, and I might even agree with one or more of your points.
    Suffice to say, I am not one of the throngs of single girls that swoon every time a Maccabeat enters the room.
    Still, I happen to love their music, and I am somewhat entertained by the music videos as well.

Leave a Reply

