Funny, News

SNL Bar Mitzvah Sketch: Only half-funny

Now don’t get me wrong, I love SNL. I watch it religiously… But this sketch kind of fulfilled the stereotypical joke about SNL sketches: They start off great, throw in a few a good laughs, but sour really quickly once the three-minute mark hits, and then it’s gone on too long and it’s all downhill from there.

As to what I mean when I say “half-funny” – the first two parodies with Taylor Swift and Jay-Z were pretty funny. Jay Pharoah nails every single impression they give him (if only the writers gave him a role that’s not an impression!). But after that, it gets ugly.

With the Katy Perry and Cee-Lo Green performances, the sketch begins to reek of trying way too hard to over-milk the sketch’s theme joke (in this case, Jewish jokes) to the very last drop. And while this is typically a trademark technique of SNL comedy, which at times produces some great laughs – e.g. The Secret Word, or anything that includes Stefon, it too often results in lame jokes that make you groan and wanna shake your head because you feel like they could’ve made the sketch so much funnier, but blew it big time.

And as for the whole idea of the sketch itself, I just thought the concept was unnecessary and overdone. To capture my inner Weekend Update anchor: Really, SNL? A sketch where Jews make fun of themselves? How original…

Try doing that at a mosque for an Islamic festival and see what kind of reaction you get… Now that’ll be entertainment! Not to mention it’ll remind people of that classic SNL “cutting edge, pushing the envelope” style of comedy we all grew to enjoy at a young age…

And it’s not like I’m offended by the sketch, because I wasn’t. That they were poking fun at a time-honoured Jewish tradition, which has been tarnished by corny dance parties (aka the old it’s more bar than mitzvah joke), it didn’t really bother me.

But from a comedic perspective, well… let’s put it this way: the moment I saw the Star of David from the backdrop of the synagogue at the beginning of the sketch, I knew this was headed for trouble…

I’m also kind of surprised they didn’t even use Andy Samberg for this sketch, in fact I’m impressed.

Perhaps this sketch would’ve been funnier had they included Kristen Wiig in it. She’s just too funny 🙂

Leave a Reply

