Awesome, Food

Potentially Awesome News: Skittles rumoured to become OU Kosher certified

According to Kosher Travel News & Reviews / YeahThat’sKosher.com, speculation has emerged that Skittles will be given a kosher certification by the Orthodox Union (OU).

I don’t really know the authenticity of these rumours, nor do I know much about the source of where I found this wonderful news, but nonetheless just thinking about the possibility of eating my favourite childhood candy once again is enough of a reason to publicize the possibility of it coming to fruition.

After every single hockey game I played when I was younger, I would go immediately to the closest vending machine in the arena and purchase one of two choices for a post-game snack. One was berry-flavoured Powerade drink, and the other was whatever available package of Skittles. What a great snack. The day I found out they weren’t kosher (since they contain gelatin) was heartbreaking.

One can only dream… if not taste (the rainbow, that is…)

3 thoughts on “Potentially Awesome News: Skittles rumoured to become OU Kosher certified”

  1. omg! This would be a dream come true. These were my favourite candy too – giving them up was one of my biggest baal teshuva challenges. Oh please oh please oh please oh please let them make skittles kosher!!!

Leave a Reply

