Facebook, media, Random

Watching Twitter when Facebook goes down

So I’m on Facebook at around 5:30 last Thursday (Dec 10) afternoon (5:21 to be exact – you’ll see why later), when all of a sudden the server goes down and nothing is responding.

Most of the time it’s just a computer problem, but I’m at school and the Internet usually runs smoothly (unlike at home, where using a certain phone kills the connection… of all the technology, they can’t avoid that problem…sigh)

Trying to figure out what’s up, I log on to Twitter and see if there’s an answer. Why not? That’s where everyone seems to find out everything right away, including Michael Jackson… I have an account and I don’t use it often, partially because I’m too drawn to Facebook and to me Twitter still has that loserish stigma of people posting stupid moments like “I just flushed the toilet!”

At about 5:23, I type in “facebook” into the search engine and see who’s included the word in their tweets. I’m surprised to see only two tweets, only one of them about what’s wrong with facebook.

20 seconds later a notification pops up on the screen telling me there have been “25 new tweets since I started searching.” I click the link and now it gets fun.

What’s wrong with facebook?

Ahhh! facebook isnt working = end of world

no facebook ugh

Why isn’t facebook working????

#Facebook is down for the count.

Another 20 seconds later comes another notification tells me of 100 new posts since I began the search. Which means more comedy.

facebook moving slow. time to get on omgpop.com

Twitter’s dead and Facebook is slow as Christmas. It’s the most wonderful time of the year 🙂

Facebook Is Totally Down

stupid evil facebook! its gone downhill in my opinion.

Another 20 seconds pass, another 100+ posts. And repeat the cycle… (inhale, read, laugh, exhale, new notification…)

I love how people migrate to Twitter now over everything. It’s kind of like that engagement post I did not too long ago, except to larger scale and about not so important things (i.e. facebook going down).

Too me it’s just comedy, but it is interesting to see the trends of people resorting to another social networking site when another one goes down.

Here’s my tweet @ 5:24:

it’s funny when i check twitter when facebook is down… now there’s a tidal wave of tweets coming in

I would’ve posted the screenshots at the time but work came first at the time…

Nuff’ said.

Leave a Reply

